It Seems To Me

If I were a parent

teaching a child

I would always say

“it seems to me”.

 

It seems to me

kindness is important.

It seems to me

you might consider this.

It seems to me

you are sad.

 

It seems to me

all I can offer

are my own imperfect insights.

I am not the owner 

of infallible truth.

I am no authority

on another person’s life.

 

In response

children could decide

what they thought

about their own experience

without the weight of

the law of your words.

 

That would be good

it seems to me.

 

HS 9.14.2016

Leave a Reply

