Eurydice

 

Eurydice, Eurydice

I felt what felt like love to me

Thy form, thy shape, I often ape

Thy shadow hides inside my mind

Thy words I still hear in my mouth.

 

Eurydice, Eurydice

It used to be  I cherished thee

The lens of time, a prism fine

Bent love into a different shape.

Then I saw thee differently.

 

Eurydice, Eurydice

What can I ever think of thee?

I pity thee, thy heart’s real pain

Out of thy reach I hide to breathe

What air you’ve learned to suck, to steal.

 

Eurydice, Eurydice

Thou are no longer thee to me

Now down and  down and down away

Into a death thou must descend

I can not sing to nourish thee.

 

Eurydice, Eurydice

I loved thee and I hated thee

The viper, I, made you a shade

I pushed thee kindly toward thy grave.

I trust thee not, neither myself.

 

Eurydice, Eurydice

I mourn thee and I mourn for me,

Confused wraith and orphaned snake,

Our unanticipated roles.

I know not what we  will become,

When I don’t sing thy songs to thee.

 

HS 11.30.216

 

 

Leave a Reply

